PDA

View Full Version : Need advice on lead hardness

creature
04-26-2013, 02:50 PM
I'm pretty new to casting and have a couple questions about lead hardness. I'm waiting on a Cabin Tree Hardness tester and have been waiting to cast bullets until I get it in. I've been fluxing and casting ingots. It turns out they are a few weeks out and I'd kind of like to cast a few bullets. I wanna make sure they're hard enough.

I'm casting for .45acp and 9mm. The lead I have now is from wheel weights. What would be the easiest/cheapest way to increase the hardness of the metal? Should I add tin or would water quenching be enough? If I need to add tin, what ratio should I use?

retread
04-26-2013, 02:59 PM
You may want to add a small amount of tin for castibilty. Not a lot, maybe 6 inch lenth of 1/8 lead free solder for a charge in a 20 lb. pot. Other that that the straight wheel weights will be just fine. For my 9 mm and 45 acp I actually add about 1/3 soft lead to my wheel weights.

Start casting and have fun!

Tatume
04-26-2013, 03:50 PM
I used straight wheelweights for years and cast beautiful bullets. I'm adding soft lead to my mix now just because wheelweight metal is more expensive and harder to get. A little bit of tin is nice, but if your mold and alloy are the right temperature wheelweight casts well without any additions. For your 45 ACP and 9mm Para applications it is more than satisfactory as is.

Bullshop
04-26-2013, 04:25 PM
Quenching is a whole lot cheaper and will make them a whole lot harder than adding tin.

creature
04-26-2013, 05:40 PM
Awesome, thanks guys! Glad I don't have to procure any tin, it's expensive. Is there a certain BHN I need to aim for with 45acp and 9mm?

mdi
04-26-2013, 08:01 PM
Harder ain't necessarily better. Good bullet to gun fit is more important than BHN, IMO. A BHN 25 bullet will lead the barrel if it doesn't fit the gun (too small)...

MtGun44
04-26-2013, 08:07 PM