PDA

View Full Version : Cast Boolits in 6.5x55mm Swede

mtgrs737
09-05-2007, 12:25 AM
I am new to casting boolits for rifles, however I have cast many boolits for pistols in the last 35 years. I have some questions for you all on my first rifle cast boolit project, of which I have choosen a difficult project.

First off I need to cast for my Swedish Mauser rifle which has a bore of around .267" to .268", I am on the list to get one of the group buy Lee six ganger moulds that are supposed to throw a .269" diameter boolet.

I have a set of Redding dies that has a expander measuring .263" diameter.
How and where do I get a .268" expander die and or a M type flare die so that I can correctly seat the larger than normal cast boolit without deforming it or shaving it?

If I can find a expander plug that is .268" I figure that I can reduce it if I need to.

Will Lee make me a special collet neck size die that will size the neck to work with the larger cast boolit? How are you guys dealing with cast boolits in the oversize swede?

The cast boolit is a GC design, but I plan on pushing it only about 1500 to 1600 FPS, do I need a GC or can I shoot it without the check? Positives/Negatives?

dromia
09-05-2007, 02:19 AM
I use a two step case mouth expansion process for cast in my Swedish mausers.

First I use a Lyman "M" die for 26 calibre to put in the step but that on its self still isn't big enough for the larger cast boolits so I then flare the mouth a touch with a Lee neck expander die.

Extra steps but it works good for me and I don't mind the extra steps as I enjoy my bench time.

You could always have a "M" die plug made for your specific needs.

The trick with these rifles is to keep the velocity below 1600-1650 fps, I always use gas checks when gas checks are called for on anything over 1000 fps, I use a softish alloy and hate wrestling with leading so I don't take risks.