PDA

View Full Version : Lessons learned by a rookie

cf5757
04-22-2013, 08:52 PM
Sine I am new to casting, I thought a few notes might prevent having to relearn lessons over and over. . . ( this remains to be seen)

Note to self:

1. Lead stays hot a lot longer than it looks. ( index finger will recover from minor burn, boolit wil not recover from dent received after being hurriedly dropped to the hard concrete floor)

2. Spruce plate gets REALLY hot! Maybe gloves are a good idea!

3. Sawdust is a great flux. Smells like a campfire and smokes like one too. Smoke always finds your eyes. Safety glasses don't block smoke. Smoke detectors can sense sawdust smoking in the melting pot. This annoying noise will make the dog bark, which will irritate the wife. (See #4)

4. Wife does not appreciate the conversion of kitchen implements into casting implements. Take wife shopping for new kitchenware. (This should not count against casting budget.)

5. Did I mention that everything gets really hot?

6. Not all wrinkles are caused by age.

Muddydogs
04-22-2013, 09:12 PM
Thanks for the laugh.

mikemc
04-22-2013, 09:18 PM
That about sums it up!

Nose Dive
04-22-2013, 09:41 PM
Read the STICKIES here bro...there are more rats in the wood pile that can eat the cheese....

"it ain't fun if your hurtin'

Nose Dive

Cheap, fast, Good. Kindly pick two.

tg32-20
04-22-2013, 09:50 PM
That is a great post, everyone new to casting should read it!

it is so so true!

Tom

BACKTOSHOOTING
04-22-2013, 09:57 PM
[smilie=l: You have a casting budget [smilie=l:

cf5757
04-22-2013, 10:01 PM
Not me. Her. She has a very limited amount in mind. I just work around it. ;-)

Sweetpea
04-22-2013, 10:19 PM
Not me. Her. She has a very limited amount in mind. I just work around it. ;-)

BUT...BUT...BUT...

The more you cast the more you save!

[smilie=w:

cf5757
04-22-2013, 10:22 PM
Good point! I will use that argument next time she catches me. ;-)

btroj
04-22-2013, 10:31 PM