PDA

View Full Version : OK, Silly Question

Hondo 60
04-17-2013, 09:02 PM
I'm fairly new to casting so please be patient.

I've been quenching my casts in a skillet filled with water, with a rag at the bottom.

This is workin GREAT in my Single Six in 32 H&R Magnum.

Not workin so hot for a SAA in 45 Colt.
I'm gettin a bit of leading.
I don't "think" size is the issue, I'm thinkin they're too hard.

What do you drop 'em on that doesn't burn & doesn't dent 'em? :confused:
They aren't falling out of the mold, I gotta tap the handle bolt to get 'em to fall out.

siamese4570
04-17-2013, 09:13 PM
Hondo: Some molds stick some don't. I have several that I have to encourage to release the boolit. There have been reams of material written on the correct boolit size for the 45 colt. Have you slugged your barrel? Do that first. Then size your boolit .001-.002 larger that the bore dia. Next see if that boolit will drop or can be pushed thru the cylinder. If not, the mouth (front) of the cylinder is sizing down your boolit when fired resulting in an undersized boolit hitting the rifling which results in the boolit skidding on the lands and leading. Your right about the hardness, softer is usually better at lower pistol velocities. I shoot straight wheel weight 44s at 1200 fps without a gas check with no leading. I drop my boolits onto a folded towel. Hope thsi helps.
Siamese 4570

Green Lizzard
04-17-2013, 09:17 PM
siam is right about the cyl sometimes the throat will need honed or reamed to at least groove size

Gtek
04-17-2013, 09:21 PM
+1 on all above, also threaded area rear barrel (forcing cone) sometimes ID is reduced during machine work. Where is the leading? Gtek

williamwaco
04-17-2013, 09:33 PM
I'm fairly new to casting so please be patient.

I've been quenching my casts in a skillet filled with water, with a rag at the bottom.

This is workin GREAT in my Single Six in 32 H&R Magnum.

Not workin so hot for a SAA in 45 Colt.
I'm gettin a bit of leading.