PDA

View Full Version : Liability of selling cast Bullets

Rooster931
04-16-2013, 07:10 PM
I just wondered what everyones opinion is on selling cast bullets. With the ammo crissis in full swing I have had several people ask me to sell them bullets. I know we all trade/sell them on this sight and I would not be concerned with that. Folks on this sight know obviously about cast bullets, loads and guns. Any thoughts?

awaveritt
04-16-2013, 07:21 PM
I'm not a lawyer, but my main concern sounds a bit selfish in this time of crisis. I'm going to hang on to my lead, given the precarious future of components, especially lead, which is having to withstand assaults on several fronts, including environmentalists.

Love Life
04-16-2013, 07:22 PM
Ffl...

rmatchell
04-16-2013, 07:29 PM
Talking to the people in my area I get the impression that the average reloader either doesn't want to mess cast or have tried and given up. Thats fine with me I haven't ran out yet. I have sold muzzle loader bullets but that is where I draw the line. In the past I have put an add up on craigslist and bought enough lead to cover the order so that it didn't come out of my stash.

Edit--- Good point Love Life. Its a class 06 right? The main reason I have only sold muzzle loader boolits

willie_pete
04-16-2013, 07:37 PM
Yes, Type 06.

WP

rmatchell
04-16-2013, 07:39 PM
Now not to take over here but am I right assuming that im ok selling muzzle loader bullets?

theperfessor
04-16-2013, 07:57 PM
Probably not. Someone will post the regs I'm sure but ammo is defined as "bullets" along with other items, all of which require an FFL to legally manufacture and sell. Not sure if the bullets have to be for cased ammunition or not. Don't think it matters to the ATF.

Can you get away with it? Probably. Is it worth the risk? You decide. I don't want to be the test case for this, I've given away bullets but I won't sell them.

04-16-2013, 08:44 PM
Over the years, this has been a much discussed topic.