PDA

View Full Version : Rifle Rounds, To Lube or Not to Lube.

vmathias
04-16-2013, 04:57 PM
I am pretty new at the casting process and I have heard a TON on different opinions on lubing cast bullets under certain velocities. Some say Lube everything and others say if your running under a certain velocity it isnt necessary. I am looking to run 95grain 243's at approx. 16-1700fps. Opinions?

Love Life
04-16-2013, 05:00 PM
Lube them.

Where are you hearing all these opinions on NOT lubing boolits?

BruceB
04-16-2013, 05:02 PM
"....and some have to pee on the electric fence to find out for themselves."

Love Life
04-16-2013, 05:03 PM
"....and some have to pee on the electric fence to find out for themselves."

<------------

kir_kenix
04-16-2013, 05:05 PM
Lube them. It is certainly possible to shoot very low velocity handgun rounds without lube. You can save yourself a big headache (and sore arm from scrubbing your bore) by lubing your .243 projectiles that are going to be fired north of 1600 fps.

Crusty Deary Ol'Coot
04-16-2013, 06:50 PM
"J" bullets NO, Cast Boolits YES!!!!!!!!!!

Crusty Deary Ol'Coot

vmathias
04-17-2013, 12:52 AM
Lube them.

Where are you hearing all these opinions on NOT lubing boolits?

I have been doing some internet searches and have talked to some bullet Casters. Talking to some people I know they say it is a good idea but not a necessity under certain velocities. I plan on lubing everything. Just wanted some opinions. New at this and want to get as much info as possible other than what the books tell you.

btroj
04-17-2013, 07:45 AM
Those who say you can get away without lubing are either experts who have discovered a specific load that works like that or have no clue what they are saying.
Beware of Internet experts, they are often easy to find on YouTube......

cbrick
04-17-2013, 08:46 AM