PDA

View Full Version : I have a question about the placement of the flint in the lock hammer.

Neo
04-04-2013, 05:45 AM
Hi I am new to using a flint lock rifle I took it out today for my first shoot and I got a couple of hang fires. So my question is which way should the bevel on the flint face up or down at the moment the bevel is facing up in the hammer. I think this may be wrong as it seems to be chipping the flint that is why I would like to check with some who knows.:-?

Mike Brooks
04-04-2013, 08:18 AM
hang fires are usually a touch hole problem.

Lead Fred
04-04-2013, 08:36 AM
The rake of the flint is determined by the curvature of the hammer & Frizzen
Need pics for that kind of chat. It can be either or, or both depending on the flint

Hang fire is produced by the powder not being seated up in the flash hole (inside the barrel)
AND OR
The pan powder not lying in the pan properly, along with a partially compacted load.

Boerrancher
04-04-2013, 08:43 AM
If the flint is positioned properly in the cock it will not matter whether the bevel is up or down on it. I have a couple of flinters, and I shoot the flints both ways on both guns, when the flint doesn't spark as well as I would like, I turn it over. I use every edge of the flint on both the beveled and flat sides. The flint just has to be positioned in the cock properly each time you reset the flint, and only your gun can tell you what position that is. Also Mike is correct in his statement about hang fires usually being a touch hole problem.

Best wishes,

Joe

Neo
04-04-2013, 09:48 AM