PDA

View Full Version : Second grade math question:

SlippShodd
04-02-2013, 08:58 PM
"How many edges does a cone have?"
No, not an ice-cream cone. Think geometric shape.
There's no prize, just an ongoing discussion for the benefit of my 8-year old nephew, who is plenty pi$$ed that his answer was considered wrong by the modern mathematical definitions.

mike

Sweetpea
04-02-2013, 09:01 PM
One???

Jim
04-02-2013, 09:03 PM
Are we talking about a three demensional cone? And you ask about 'edges'; edges or sides?

freebullet
04-02-2013, 09:04 PM
Um, no prize? Is this a trick or something?

hithard
04-02-2013, 09:20 PM
Three

chsparkman
04-02-2013, 09:30 PM
As a mathematician, I would say one if we are referring to a classically geometrical definition of a cone.

theperfessor
04-02-2013, 09:31 PM
One where the base and the cone intersect. Depending on the definition used, one more for the point on the top if an intersection that forms a point and not just a line is counted.

MBTcustom
04-02-2013, 09:40 PM
I'm with the perfessor. What gives?

TXGunNut
04-02-2013, 09:40 PM
Another vote for "one".

swheeler
04-02-2013, 10:12 PM
another vote for one

Idaho Mule
04-02-2013, 10:15 PM
I say one, unless the rules change, then I still say one. JW

fouronesix
04-02-2013, 10:18 PM
I'd think one edge and one point. A truncated cone would have two edges and no point (better through something in there about a common bullet nose design :))

kenyerian
04-02-2013, 10:25 PM
A cone has one flat face, one curved face, one vertex and one curved edge.
One.

runfiverun
04-02-2013, 10:26 PM
a cone will have an infinite number of edges as soon as it makes the 90* turn it becomes an infinite number of measurements the more and finer you measure it.
you can call it one with a straight edge, but measure it microscopically and the number keeps on increasing.

nvbirdman
04-02-2013, 10:37 PM
A cone has an open end and a closed end. The open end is where you put the ice cream.

Edubya