PDA

View Full Version : why are my boolits cloudy and not shiney

usmcscout
03-31-2013, 04:57 AM
ok so today I finally got chance to try my hand at casting. keep in mind its only my 4th 3 hr session. my question is the pics I often see of cast boolits seem to me to have high luster. I am also a wet tumbler so I am addicted to the bling.

here are stats\\

NOE aluminum 4 cav mold on lee handles
.358 135 gr rf

LEE 6cav
.358 150 gr 1r rn

LEE 6 CAV
.358 125 gr rf

RCBS 2 CAV
.356 120 gr 120 tc

my alloy is strait wheel weights fluxed with magnaflux

mold is preheated on top of my lee 20 pd bottom pour oven

oven temp is maintained 700-750

first dozen cast are wrinked after that they come out good I do not go over 800 and once mold is preheated I cast fast as I can and do not stop to inspect other than glance when they drop out

so here are my rookie boolits. let me say its addicting and verry relaxing after day at range

go easy I am new to casting and still have to sort out the duds out of todays session

http://i1144.photobucket.com/albums/o492/usmcrecon1/IMAG1339.jpg

http://i1144.photobucket.com/albums/o492/usmcrecon1/IMAG1341.jpg

http://i1144.photobucket.com/albums/o492/usmcrecon1/IMAG1342.jpg

thanks in advance any input is greatly appriciated!

Stephen Cohen
03-31-2013, 05:08 AM
Some of those show poor fill out, I would guess mould or lead too cold. I like to run things a little hotter myself and the frosty boolits shoot just fine. they are a fine looking boolet though.

375RUGER
03-31-2013, 05:10 AM
the cloudy is antimony from the wheel weights. look up "frosting" here for more info. I don't mind a little bit. It means I'm running my mould at about the right temperature. Light frosting will easily rub off. If you get to heavy frosting you are too hot and your boolits/bands may not fill out well, i.e. rounded edges. From the looks of things you are off to a good start and you have well filled out boolits. Keep it up and Welcome.

usmcscout