PDA

View Full Version : Problem with 358-125-2R

Rich22
03-25-2013, 06:46 PM
So here are a few problems I am having. Most likely this is technique driven as I am very new to this.

1. One of the wood pieces on the handle has now come off twice. I assume the best way to remedy this is with epoxy, correct or insane?

2. I am getting an astronomical number of rejects. My mold is clean (cleaned three times, brake cleaner, soap water and stiff brush), this is not even counting the first 10 casts I do to heat up the mold, I do not have a hot plate yet but the mold is heated in an oven on 400 for 30 minutes prior, at least that is how I did it this morning, like I said I am new to this. I am having primarily wrinkles and a few instances where it looks like someone has taken a knife to the bullet and made a cut in it a millimeter deep or so. The % of rejects today was 80%.
3. I have one cavity that WILL NOT drop the bullet out even after significant tapping, this is the fourth from the bottom (handle end) I end up having to manually remove this bullet, the fifth bullet from the bottom is also very difficult to remove and requires significant tapping usually.
4. The sprue plate pivot bolt (best name I can figure out for it) is coming often, I had to tighten it twice in about 50 pours today.
5. Today started having some “filets” of lead at the very bottom of the bullet on about 10% of the bullets. I was making sure the handles were fully closed and the sprue plate fully closed.

I am lubing with bullplate per instructions, my lead is at approx 700 per my thermometer, this particular cast is with cleaned range lead. I will post pictures later hopefully.

Any ideas I would greatly appreciate it.

Raven_Darkcloud
03-25-2013, 07:22 PM
You may need some tin in the range lead. Also might have the mold too far from the spout.

runfiverun
03-25-2013, 07:27 PM
i'm sure you have burrs in the cavity's
or an alignment pin issue.