PDA

View Full Version : Will my WW and ranger scrap mix make good 30 cal rifle boolits?

supv26
03-16-2013, 08:48 PM
I've been casting pistol boolits for several years now and just recently picked up a 30 cal mold for my Rem .308 SPS 1-12 twist. I was wondering if the mix I have been using for my pistol bullets would work ok for the rifle? I still have to find gas checks and get my sizer but I would really like to try some soon.

btroj
03-16-2013, 08:51 PM
No reason why a WW/ range scrap mix shouldn't work.
Good fit and a gas check will help.

williamwaco
03-16-2013, 10:05 PM
I use that mix for all my handguns.

I also use it in my .30-30 and .30 Carbine.

My mix measures around 10 BNH.

detox
03-16-2013, 10:20 PM
You can allways quench them in water to make harder. Put something soft like a towel in bottom of pan of water to catch after dropping from hot mould.

supv26
03-17-2013, 12:11 AM
You can allways quench them in water to make harder. Put something soft like a towel in bottom of pan of water to catch after dropping from hot mould.

I may try this as I have done it with some pistol bullets. I just need to come up with a way to do this keeping the water from splashing up onto the mold. It's always funny how one little boolit can make such a huge freaking splash!!! LOL

burr7870
03-17-2013, 12:49 AM
A little drop of water on the mould is not a problem. Just keep the water away from the pot!

Huntducks
03-17-2013, 01:37 AM
Get a 5 gal bucket put a towel in botton and fill at least half way W/water drop boolits straight from mold right away.

.22-10-45
03-17-2013, 02:02 AM
Try shooting before going to trouble of W.Q. I am using about the same alloy in a 7X57 Mauser sporting rifle..haven't chron'ed yet, but I am well up into jacketed bullet charges using H4895..no leading whatsoever.

cbrick
03-17-2013, 08:27 AM