PDA

View Full Version : First casts, any recommendations?

tbl-leo
03-12-2013, 07:08 PM
Hello everyone,

I know this forum is littered with how to's and trouble shooting bad casts, my casting not different. I am posting this because I really couldn't find anything related to hollow point casting. This is my very first time casting, I prepped the mold as shown in YouTube videos specific to Lyman's molds. I had the lee melter set to about 8 with wheel weight ingots loaded and I fluxed with saw dust. I casted about 200 boolits with them improving significantly. I also let the mold heat up before beginning. Do you think their may be zinc in my pot? I was very careful while making the WW ingots. Are these boolites shoot able?

Thanks in advance.

**oneshot**
03-12-2013, 07:17 PM
melt too cold, mold not hot enough, poor venting. I would turn up the temp and cast faster.

Hounddog
03-12-2013, 07:19 PM
You need to get that mold hotter and especially those hollow point pins. My hollow point molds get very fiddly until the pins get up to temp. Try pre heating on a hot plate and then dip a corner of the mold into the melt if the boolits come out all wrinkly.

Welcome to the site and good luck.

Hounddog

turmech
03-12-2013, 07:22 PM
I would guess your hollow point pins were not hot enough. A hot plate would help a lot to get the mold and pins up to casting temp. if you are trying to inspect the bullets while casting and reaching mold temperature this can be counterproductive.

I would suppose they are shootable, but I would recast them. For me casting is half the fun and a second go around would most likely have better results.

kbstenberg
03-12-2013, 07:30 PM
First We need some specifics. Do you know what temperature your melt was at? Do you know what temp. your mold was at? What type of HP mold was it? How did you preheat the mold? What alloy was it? We gots to know this kind of stuff!
I forgot Welcome to the brotherhood. Hoodies arn't mandatory! Kevin

Love Life