PDA

View Full Version : Still Getting Leading with 9mm

metho
03-10-2013, 11:31 AM
So I've been casting for a few months now and after perfecting my 45 bullets I've since moved on to 9mm. I'm using a lee 128gr tumble lube 6 cavity truncated round nose mold. The boolits are dropping at a about 130-134gr and 3.56-3.59 in diameter. I'm sizing them with the lee 356 sizing die and lubing with alox. My 356 die was sizing the boolits to 354 and after more research found out that I needed to sand the die and open it up a bit more. I did that, I opened it up to .355 and still got leading. I opened it more to 355.5 and still got leading. Then opened it to 356 and still got leading. The leading wasn't as bad as before but it was still clearly there.

I've slugged my beretta 92 and found that the barrel is 355 so I didn't want to go any bigger than 356. The next thing I was going to try is polishing the barrel with jb bore bright because I was told that would help. If this doesn't fix the problem what should I try next? Could it be the load data? Or maybe the alloy? Or is there something more basic I'm missing here.

The alloy I'm using is 50/50 pure lead/ww. I'm loading with 4.2gr unique @ 1.095 oal.

bowenrd
03-10-2013, 11:39 AM
All of my 9mm shoot cast sized to .357. FWIW

Try a different lube and next try a different powder.

clintsfolly
03-10-2013, 11:41 AM
.3575 here and no leading Clint

Rattlesnake Charlie
03-10-2013, 11:52 AM
.358 works in all of my 9mm and .380 ACP. All of my friends stuff too.

metho
03-10-2013, 11:52 AM
.3575 here and no leading Clint

What size is your bore?

Larry Gibson
03-10-2013, 11:57 AM
Add 2 % tin to the WWs, leave the Pb out. Lube with LLA as per the instructions and size in a .357 sizer.

Larry Gibson

ku4hx
03-10-2013, 12:48 PM
... I didn't want to go any bigger than 356.

In trying to eliminate the cause of your leading, that may not be a realistic position.

khmer6
03-10-2013, 01:09 PM