PDA

View Full Version : cannon

Philngruvy
03-05-2013, 10:10 AM
I put these pics and questions in the outdoors section but got no replies so I thought I would try it here.
I have this little cannon which has a bore that a .690 round ball fits and with a patch , I think it will fit perfectly. I would like to shoot it but I have zero experience with black powder and cannons, so any help or advice would be appreciated.63180631816318263183

WILCO
03-05-2013, 10:12 AM
Make and model?

Wayne Smith
03-05-2013, 10:15 AM
I don't know much about them but I can tell you that you have to strap it down to the mount. I think you have the wood cut too deep. Most that I've seen have maybe 1/4 of the trunnion showing above the wood and a metal strap bolted over it.

Philngruvy
03-05-2013, 10:26 AM
Make and model?

I cannot find any markings on it, so your guess is as good as mine.

Philngruvy
03-05-2013, 10:29 AM
I don't know much about them but I can tell you that you have to strap it down to the mount. I think you have the wood cut too deep. Most that I've seen have maybe 1/4 of the trunnion showing above the wood and a metal strap bolted over it.

I agree. I did not make the wood mount. This cannon was an heirloom from my deceased FIL. He passed well before I met his daughter, my wife, and so any information about the cannon was lost.

Smitty's Retired
03-05-2013, 11:06 AM
I had a close friend that had one similar to that one, as far as shape and size. Too many variables in charge on those. Depends on what type of powder and if you use a patched load or foil wrap.

Might want to talk to these guys.

http://www.muzzleloadingforum.com/fusionbb/showforum.php?fid/20/

chboats
03-05-2013, 11:12 AM