PDA

View Full Version : 9mm cast bullets resizing after being seated...

jballs
02-27-2013, 06:55 PM
New member here. I did a search but couldn't find an answer.

I've been loading 45acp pretty successfully for a few months now. I finally got some 9mm cast bullets and after trying some loads out, I am finding I have bullet tumble out of both my m&p's(full size and compact).

I'm shooting 125g RN cast bullet(.356), 3.0-3.3 g Clays powder and S&B primer.
I get significant leading and wild inaccuracies. Factory ammo shoots fine in both guns.

I slugged both barrels today. The full size I get .358, compact 3.56. I've tried loading with no crimp at all but that doesn't help. I finally pulled a bullet that I had loaded and the bullets measured .353-354. Id say I found my problem, I just don't know how to correct it. How do I keep the bullet from being "resized" when I seat it?

The bullet I pulled had NOT been ran through a Lee Factory crimp die.

thanks

JonB_in_Glencoe
02-27-2013, 06:58 PM
You need a larger case mouth expander.
Jon

L Ross
02-27-2013, 07:00 PM
I'd also start out with a larger diameter bullet in the first place.

detox
02-27-2013, 07:08 PM
What type of aloy are you using? If wheel weight lead you can make bullets harder by dropping them in water while removing from hot mold.

detox
02-27-2013, 07:14 PM
You may be using too much taper crimp.

Try a quicker burnig powder such as Red Dot.

What lube are you using?

jballs
02-27-2013, 07:15 PM
What type of aloy are you using? If wheel weight lead you can make bullets harder by dropping them in water while removing from hot mold.

I bought them from Indiana Bullet company. They are supposedly brinell 18. Is bullet hardness an issue?

How would getting a larger bullet help? Wouldn't they resize just the same?

detox
02-27-2013, 07:36 PM
Try using less taper crimp

They may be too hard. A softer bullet should seal to the bore when fired.

Charlie Two Tracks
02-27-2013, 07:56 PM