PDA

View Full Version : Pic em apart

jeepyj
02-23-2013, 08:11 PM
62237Hello all, The following are pictures that I wouldn't mind having some of experienced casters see what I should be doing different. The mold is Lyman 356242 double 9mm 120 gr. The mix is approximately 95% COWW and 5% Babbitt. They seem to shoot very nice so far decent clusters off hand. It still a little cold up here so I haven't shot from a bench.
Jeepyj

egg250
02-23-2013, 08:53 PM
I'm far from an expert. If they shoot well enough for you, be happy with it. I did notice a few wrinkled boolits as well as some that aren't quite filled out either. Ensure your mold is hot enough throughout your casting session. Also, prior to sizing/lubing, conduct a more thorough quality control check for rejects.

jeepyj
02-26-2013, 11:26 PM
Thank you egg250 I would agree and I've gone back through them and picked the snappers. In last couple days I obtained a new lube heater that seems far less messy
Thanks again

Ickisrulz
02-27-2013, 10:18 AM
There are some that could have filled out a little better. Higher heat, warmer mold or more tin added to your mix (1%) will solve this. If they shoot good and don't lead, you have the main objective met. Keep casting so you learn your equipment and the process and they will get much better.

jeepyj
02-27-2013, 03:23 PM
Thank you Ickisrulz
I thought i maybe casting too hot the thermometer is around 760. It seems when my mold is too hot the little silver jems want to stick more. Does 750-760 seem about right? I just purchased the thermometer and was a little surprised of the temperature was as high it was 780+/- so i cut it back. thoughts?

Ickisrulz
02-27-2013, 04:31 PM
Thank you Ickisrulz