PDA

View Full Version : BHN vs Velocity

jonp
02-23-2013, 07:25 AM
I'm somewhat new to the cast boolits having stuck to Jacketed bullets up to this point so forgive a question that is probably common knowledge. I've read a number of threads relating to BHN and pressure but not on velocity. Is there a "rule of thumb" or chart that gives an approximate BHN for a cast as related to the max/min velocity that can be used with that bullet? The reason that I ask is that I bought some cast boolits from a manu that they say are BHN 10 and are ok up to 1400 fps but that seems to be over the recommended fps according to several sources I have read and will lead to leading.

Tatume
02-23-2013, 08:03 AM
According to Brian Pierce (Handloader 246, April-May 2007), BHN 11 is appropriate for 45-Colt level pressures (14,000 psi). For the range of pressures we use in magnum revolver ammo, hardness should be around 16 BHN.

Freedom Arms cautions that bullets used in the 454 Casull that are not sufficiently hard can cause cracking of the forcing cone. They recommend very hard bullets for full-power loading of this cartridge.

Larry Gibson
02-23-2013, 09:32 AM
BHN is only half of the bullets "hardness"; other half has no real measurement but is conceded to be "toughness" or malleability. Bullets with the same BHN can be completely different alloys and all can be driven to high velocity. How high a velocity w/o leading and with accuracy depends on the actual composition of the alloy, the lube used, fit, the condition of the firearm, barrel length, the cartridge used in and the burning rate of the powder used plus a few others probably.

Lets jus say (since you didn't mention) you have a 44 magnum Ruger BH with 7 1/2" barrel. Those commercial bullets with a BHN of 10 might do fine at 1400 fps with H110 or 2400 but may not with a faster powder.

The short answer is; no, there is no "rule of thumb".

Larry Gibson

btroj
02-23-2013, 09:36 AM