PDA

View Full Version : Best Manual for New Reloader

PbHurler
02-23-2013, 01:09 AM
Good evening,
A friend of mine left me a phone message, asking what I'd recommend for reference material, for someone wanting to get started in reloading. He'd like to read about the whole process in depth, he's a sharp guy. He doesn't own any tools, presses etc. yet.
I think he's looking for a publication to read that covers it all, the basics to touching on the advanced.

I know all loading manuals have the process dissected in their front pages, but is there a single publication that you have experience with, that you feel should be a must read for a newby? (and currently available) I'd rather he not have to go and buy 2, 3 or 4 different loading manuals off the bat.
I've heard good things about the Lyman Reloading Manual, but I've never owned one.

I'm available to help him along the way, and more than happy to do it. I've been handloading for 34 years. I myself, learned by reading a single Speer reloading manual number 10.

But as you all know, sometimes you just want a book to read to learn about a subject.

I appreciate your responses.

alrighty
02-23-2013, 01:25 AM
I have loaned the 47th edition Lyman reloading handbook to a couple of friends.It is very easy to understand and yet detailed.It is also nice that it is printed in larger text for people like me with short arms.Last I checked you could still pick these up used at a decent price.

Duckiller
02-23-2013, 02:48 AM
Several Manuals!!! In addition to Lyman I would also get Speer, Hornady and/or Sierra manuals. I would start out with 3-4 manuals and accumulate more as time and money allow. NEVER throw a manual away. Loads will vary in different manuals. Cross check your loads in several manuals and avoid real high or light loads to start. The above has worked for me most of the time for the last 48 years.

sthwestvictoria
02-23-2013, 03:24 AM