PDA

View Full Version : saboted cast boolits? lube alternative

injuredminnow
02-21-2013, 02:04 PM
I'm new at casting but experienced in the plastics industry. As I research lubing, paper-patching, jacket swaging, and gas-checking, it struck me that for muzzle-loading, many bullets come with plastic sabots (a .45 bullet saboted up to .50). Having the education and a decade's experience in polymers, what's to keep me from putting some R&D into simple, cheap plastic sabots that one could use with swaged bullets. For example, a lead bullet could be swaged to say .330 and then pressed into a non-discarding sabot bringing it up to .357 and then loaded into a 9mm case. What am I missing here? I'm not talking about driving a plastic sabot at 3000fps. I'm thinking more along the lines of 9mm and .45 slow but heavy bullets for target shooting. It would eliminate leading and the lubing process and would allow for non-cast, swaged bullets to be made. High-temp plastics are no problem and they can be made with "squashing" rather than "smearing" properties. What am I missing? Should I just stick to designing more plastic caps that go on the ends of canes? Even after the dies are built, I could produce 1000 little sabot cups and sell them for under $10. Tell me why I shouldn't even try.

Brett
Milwaukee

Frozone
02-21-2013, 02:29 PM
We have an entire section devoted to saboted lead - look up Paper Patching ;-)

Come to think of it - aren't most jacketed bullets just a form of non-discarding sabot on the lead? :kidding:

I can see a small market for your idea, but I can't help but feel this is a little like the old saw about how to make a million dollars in the gun business, Start with 2 million and know when to quit.

Chicken Thief
02-21-2013, 02:38 PM
If there was money to be made, we would have seen a big market of them by now.

The accelerators for 30 cal has problems with accurasy.
As for frontstuffers i think it's just laziness.

Geppetto
02-21-2013, 02:48 PM