PDA

View Full Version : want to get started - questions

Jnestle
02-21-2013, 01:17 AM
I have finally decided it is time to start casting. I have been handloading for about six years and mostly load .40 cal S&W, .243, .270 WSM. I have a pretty decent understanding of handloading and make some pretty good ammo. However, to the questions:

1. Is there one book or reference that can take a beginner and walk him through the entire process of casting, and even include the loading process for a finished cartridge?

2. Can someone chime in on everything I will need to get started, OR presumably the book in question above will answer this question?

3. Can some of the experts here give me some good advice that books usually don't provide? From my handloading experience, I learned that experience will always provide some gems of information that books don't.

I am glad I found this forum and look forward to be corresponding with other members. From lurking for about three days I can see that we have some very knowledgeable people in here.

Thanks in advance,

Jnestle

runfiverun
02-21-2013, 02:05 AM
i'm gonna give you a welcome aboard.
and let others handle your questions.
a lot of the new guy's would be able to answer what works best now day's.
or what they done and would do differently.

somedude101
02-21-2013, 02:43 AM
As a bare minimum I would suggest some Lee molds (there cheap and if you screw them up somehow your not out much) and a bottom pour pot. You can usually load boolets as cast, if not a lee sizer is pretty cheap. Lube is important I started out with Lee liquid alox and have found Recluse's formula for tumble lubing and I really like it. So far as books the castpics link at the bottom of the page has some really good articles, and Lyman cast bullet handbook has allot of good info. I am relatively new to casting myself, and I'm hooked.

dilly
02-21-2013, 02:59 AM