PDA

View Full Version : Unchecked .357 mag question.

Nocturnal Stumblebutt
02-15-2013, 05:10 PM
I recently got an Ideal 358432 160 gr WC mold, I plan on using it for a hard hitting 38 special self defense load. My question is, how fast can I push it/how hard should it be to be loaded as a .357 mag load. I'm thinking something along the lines of a water quenched boolit with a medium load of medium burn rate powder (I have some Accurate No. 7 on hand).

Suggestions?

fecmech
02-15-2013, 06:47 PM
There is no real need for GC's in the .357 IMO. I have been running the 358429 170 gr SWC for over 40 years with max loads of 2400 or 296 with excellent accuracy and no leading. Revolver velocities are in the 1200-1300 fps range and in the rifles about 1600 fps. I have never tried to push medium or fast powders to max so I can't speak to that. My idea of .357 mag is around 1300 fps and for that I use the slower powders.

Dan Cash
02-15-2013, 07:16 PM
Concur 100% with fecmec. Have not used .357 in rifles but no need of checks for handguns up to 1300 with 175 gr bullet. Bullet does not need to be nor want to be very hard. Air cooled WW is plenty hard.

williamwaco
02-15-2013, 10:00 PM
There is ZERO need for a gas check in the .357 Mag.

I routinely load plain base bullets them to 1700 fps in my rifles.

There is ZERO need for water dropping.

My favorite alloy for your purpose would be something like range scrap with a little tin. ( no more than 1%)
They would BNH test at 8 to 9.

I have never used A No. 7 but I really like A No. 9 in max charges in the .357.

You will not find any data for that bullet. Start with a starting load for the 170 gr SWC and work up slowly.

PS, I have never seen that bullet. I think it will be an excellent choice,

Nocturnal Stumblebutt
02-15-2013, 10:19 PM
Thanks for the advice everyone, I'll just start with 9 grains of 2400, with the air cooled boolits I've cast for 38 spl, and go from there.

Super Sneaky Steve
02-15-2013, 10:52 PM