PDA

View Full Version : Lead hardness

qwiksting
02-12-2013, 09:46 PM
61089I am not sure if this is the correct place to post this. So, if it is not moderators, just let me know.

I have 6 ingots that weigh 85 lbs apiece. I was told when i got them, they were at least 20years old. The guy I got them from said he thinks they came from a Foundry. I am new to casting, and am learning on the fly and reading/researching. I think Foundry lead is suppose to be harder than dead lead. Foundry lead has some Antimony and tin in it. I am not sure that this lead has that in it. So I wonder if it is really Foundry lead. Was wondering if I sent a sample of some lead to someone that has either a hardness tester of something that could tell me what this is. I am planning on selling some of it, however i want to be truthful to who buys it and tell them what I know about it. I took a drill and drilled holes in it around, took a torch to try and break off piece. That took awhile.....however I finally took a sledgehammer and beat on it to break off a 20lb chunk. Anyway, if someone is interested in helping a newbie out, I would greatly appreciate it and make it worth your trouble. PM me.61088

Bullshop
02-12-2013, 09:57 PM
If it ""BROKE"" by hitting it with a hammer even a big hammer it is not pure lead. Pure lead would just keep bending and bending and bending and not much else.
As long as you have a hole drilled in one thread a bolt into the hole and hang the ingot on a chain so you can tap it to see if it has any ring to it. If it rings its alloyed. The higher pitch to the ring the lower the lead content. Really hard lead like linotype, monotype, and steriotype and some babbit will ring almost like steel.

qwiksting
02-12-2013, 10:03 PM