PDA

View Full Version : What of these two molds are best to start with?

s1120
02-03-2013, 08:23 AM
OK.. so I am just starting out, and have two molds to work with. One is the Lyman 358311 round nose, and the other is a 358495 WC. As far as "need" ? Well right now Im just plinking, and working on my shooting, reloading, and casting skills. I do plan on hitting up some pistol leages though... so target shooting is in the plans. I have more WC casted then RN so far..[I got the stuff for dad, and he had casted a lot up years ago]. .. so im thinking the round nose might be a better place to learn... But mostly Im asking what is the better mold to learn the art/skill of casting with?

**oneshot**
02-03-2013, 08:37 AM
Either will give you an education on casting and shooting.
just remember KISS (Keep It Simple Silly)

Wal'
02-03-2013, 08:58 AM
You have two awesome molds there, either will keep you happy. the 358495 will be be the best of the two if you're mainly paper punching.

Enjoy...........

Wal'
02-03-2013, 09:00 AM
Either will give you an education on casting and shooting.
just remember KISS (Keep It Simple Silly)

I was always taught it was K.....I...S.......Stupid. :bigsmyl2:

hd09
02-03-2013, 09:15 AM
Yes the 358495 makes a cleaner hole in paper. The 358311 tears a hole.

s1120
02-03-2013, 09:55 AM
As far as pouring bolth are easy enough?

mdi
02-03-2013, 01:20 PM
All the basics will apply to either mold; clean mold, pre-heat mold, clean melt, and pouring rythem. The bullet design, WC vs Round nose makes no difference, but if you need a "who-said" to tell you; start with the wadcutter...

1Shirt
02-03-2013, 01:22 PM
All good advice!
1Shirt!

Bigslug
02-03-2013, 01:54 PM
If you're playing the paper target game, you want the largest, cleanest hole you can make - so wadcutters will be more useful.