PDA

View Full Version : Extremely "Green," and need some advice.

Brahma
02-01-2013, 04:25 PM
As the title states, I'm very new to casting and reloading, and decided to try and pick up both as a hobby since I have put the bottle down and came into a lot of free time. I've been reading through the stickies and tons of threads, and a lot of members have posted on the importance of acquiring a reloading/casting manual or handbook. That being said I was wondering if anyone had some recommendations as to manuals that are geared much more to the beginner reloader/caster? At Barnes & Noble I've seen things like "The ABC's of Reloading," and a few others. Are these worth their weight for a beginner like myself or would I be better off with something else?

Also, is there a way to determine how many pounds of lead is required to cast X amount of bullets? I realize bullet size varies and certain sizes require more or less lead. That being said if i wanted to cast 1,000, 40S&W with a TC roughly how many pounds of lead would I need?

Thanks in advance for everyone's help. Howdy!

ShooterAZ
02-01-2013, 04:37 PM
The Lyman Cast Bullet Handbook would be a good place to start. Other load manuals are helpful for reference. For 1000 40 cal boolits, depending on weight you will need probably somewhere around 25-30 lbs of alloy.

Love Life
02-01-2013, 04:47 PM
1lb=7,000 gr

7,000/Bullet weight= Number of bullets per pound.

Example: 7,000gr/125gr=56 125gr bullets per pound

1,000 bullets/56= 17.857142 lbs of lead

or

125gr*1000=125,000gr/7000gr=17.857142 lbs of lead

David2011
02-01-2013, 04:49 PM
Take a look at the stickies here and do a search for the LASC website.

David

lead4me
02-01-2013, 04:50 PM
7000gr to a lb of lead. So for a 230gr 45ACP I get 30 boolits per lb.

lead4me
02-01-2013, 04:51 PM
WOW slow on the post...+1 what Love-life said. Oh and welcome to the site and casting lot of good info here.

ku4hx
02-01-2013, 04:52 PM