PDA

View Full Version : WW identification help

Triggernosis
02-01-2013, 03:43 PM
I picked up a few WW's from my bud at the tire shop this morning (if he wasn't my buddy, I don't think I'd ever get any - one lady at another tire store said everyone and his brother was coming in trying to get them to *gasp* "make ammo with!" I got the feeling that if I'd told her that I was using them for something else she may have given me a few. :-( )
Anyway, please take a look at these and tell me if any of them are lead and will work. I have a ton of them labeled "AL" and "AL MC" on them. The middle two labeled "30" and "45" perplex me, as I can bend them like lead, but they almost seem more brittle than pure lead...I think - I'm still new at this. 60043

autopilotmp
02-01-2013, 04:08 PM
If you can bend or cut them with dikes then they are not steel or zinc, the Al means they are for aluminum rims. That it's my experience, melt at a low temp and if you miss one our two they will float on the melt. There is a complete thread sticky over in the lead forum on ww id.

Triggernosis
02-01-2013, 04:34 PM
Thanks, auto!

02-01-2013, 05:03 PM
They are painted, lead alloy weights. Just keep them segregated from the stick-on weights.

Gtek
02-01-2013, 05:50 PM
You are a blessed man. If you were to have them checked they can have all kinds of small amount stuff, They are fine. Mix 50/50 with stick-ons-range scrap for pistol and slow rifle or whatever your needs, if they do not fill add a little tin. Spend the time in the sticky's and understand the blends for your needs. If you really have a ton and it bothers you, well I cannot help you with that cause you probably live to far away. Gtek

ssnow
02-01-2013, 07:47 PM
The third one down looks like a zinc weight. That particular shape/style of weight can fool you, because both lead and zinc weights use that shape. Check that third one with a set of cutters to be certain, but it looks like a zinc weight to me.

Triggernosis
02-01-2013, 09:24 PM