PDA

View Full Version : Would you pay $50 for 100lb of diving weights?

jhabers
01-31-2013, 08:44 PM
I am very new to this boolit casting thing and have never actually casted yet. I am trying to build up some lead supply and posted on craigslist looking for lead I had someone email me saying that they had 100lb of diving weights that he would sell for $1/lb. I told him I would pay no more than .50/lb and he said OK.
Being a virgin and all to this I started doing some reading and see that diving weights aren’t always lead or all lead and sometimes they can be other alloys or have other alloys mixed in. What would you do in this situation? I have an ingot mold coming and a pot (Should be at my door when I get home). Waiting on some boolit molts that are backordered.

So basically I could get this set of dive weights that weight 105lb for $50, I have tried to get wheel weights by me and it’s real tough

Thanks
Jon

rexherring
01-31-2013, 08:46 PM
Not a bad price. Usually close to pure lead.

jhabers
01-31-2013, 08:46 PM
Oops, here is the picture of the weights

crawfobj
01-31-2013, 08:48 PM
I would.

Nocturnal Stumblebutt
01-31-2013, 08:57 PM
Yes, whenever I bought dive weights I have actually called the manufacturer and asked what alloy they used. All of the manufacturers I have spoken to say they use an alloy of 3% antimony 97% lead.

Beagle333
01-31-2013, 09:08 PM
In today's lead scarce market? You bet I would.
I bought some for .50c and melted them. They were really old scuba weights and probably just old WW lead anyway.
It was nice looking when melted, and as ingots it appears to be a little harder than pure.... I don't have a way to tell how much harder, but my best guess is about the same as my COWW ingots. I'm just going to mix it in my Coww/Soww when I blend new and just use it as a cheap way to stretch my existing alloy. I don't push a boolit to the max anyway, so it won't hurt my shooting if it changes the bhn a point or two.

hickfu
01-31-2013, 09:20 PM