PDA

View Full Version : Bottom pour vs. ladle pour?

Triggernosis
01-21-2013, 11:51 PM
I'm sure this question has been asked a hundred times, but can someone explain to a complete newbie the difference between bottom pour and ladle pour?

drklynoon
01-22-2013, 12:08 AM
Well besides the obvious, bottom pour is quicker and is easier to keep large aluminum molds up to temp because it is quicker. I do both and find dipping gives me less culls in my 2 cavity molds. However, dipping usually leaves me with less boolits per sitting because of the ease of bottom pour. Another feature of dipping is you can accomplish this with a cast iron pot, a camp stove, and a ladle. Bottom pour takes a specific pot.

Le Loup Solitaire
01-22-2013, 02:04 AM
Hi and welcome to the forum. Good casting can be accomplished either way. Speed and convenience are important to some casters and to others ..not. High end equipment in either case is not a guarantee of anything...to quote an old saying, "its not what you got--its how you use it".Post #2 sums it up generally speaking. There are many advocates for each method and lots of opinions and discussion around. I do both. Regardless of which method you use, the object is to produce good bullets/quality. (Way) Back in the day, there were no bottom pour pots around and riflemen/marksmen poured some pretty good bullets that set a lot of records that lasted a long time. So whatever equipment you want/need/choose to use, use it well and concentrate on making a good product. LLS

dromia
01-22-2013, 04:37 AM
Bottom pour uses a bottom pour pot which pours the lead into the mould through a spout in the bottom of the pot using a valve stem system.

Dipping or ladle pouring uses a lead ladle which you dip into the lead from the top of the pot and pour the alloy into the mould from the ladle.