PDA

View Full Version : Can not make round boolits

RW460
01-14-2013, 04:51 PM
New to the boolit world lots of questions
I have two 429421 lyman moulds and a rcbs in the same weight. One of the 429s I bought new the others are used but look new, I keep getting out of round bullets from both the lyman and rcbs moulds. This also happens in my 45 moulds I run the temp. at around 700* to 750 to keep out the wrinkles and make sharper corners.
Can any one help on this ? I am new to casting but have been reloading for 35 years or more. I think I should have just bought ready made bullets it would have been much cheaper than casting.

Bullshop
01-14-2013, 04:56 PM
Take it easy! A mold that will make perfectly round boolits is a rare bird. All is not lost. The final sizer your barrel will make them as round as they need be.
.001 or .002" out of round is not that big a deal unless maybe your talking 22 cal. For say 30 cal and up dont sweet it. Sizing them out-a-round boolits nose first will make them look perty good. The final sizer will let you know just how good.

Springfield
01-14-2013, 05:03 PM
Many moulds cast out of round, aluminum being the worst offenders in my experience. They still shoot well most of the time.

oldfart1956
01-14-2013, 09:43 PM
RW if the out of round really bothers you get an inexpensive Lee sizing die. That'll round them right smart. I'm casting with an H&G mold right now (4 banger) that casts some .004 out of round in .44 and this past weekend shot my first 1 inch group at 50yds. ! Unsized by the way. I've shot 'em sized and unsized, so round and out of round...didn't seem to matter much. Now some may scoff at a 1 inch group but for me that's exceptional. Scoped and off sandbags by the way. Load 'em...shoot 'em. Audie...the Oldfart.

Charlie Two Tracks
01-14-2013, 10:15 PM