PDA

View Full Version : Any personal policies regarding who you let shoot your reloaded boolits?

7Acres
01-07-2013, 07:04 PM
I'm new to casting and reloading and have enjoyed my plinking boolits I recently loaded. I went with 5.1gr of Unique and my carry 1911 didn't buck like a bronco. I've got brass for calibers I don't own just from picking up when my friends and family are over shooting. The wheels are starting to turn with some of them asking if I would reload for them to save them some money. And of course they'd love to shoot my reloads for free. While I was reloading my first 100 I noticed 2 times I put in a double charge due to having a hard time with the brass sticking in the powder thru sizing die. That experience made me a little nervous about the thought of letting other people shoot my reloads till I get more experience under my belt. Just got me wondering if some folks on here have policies regarding whether they let other people shoot their reloads.

This is also compounded a bit because my boolits are cast Pb which could be an issue if a buddy ran 50-100rds through a polygonal barrel not knowing enough to inspect the barrel every so often. I have been "certifying" each gun I want to shoot cast through by doing several iterations of firing then inspecting the barrel for lead. So far so good with a 1911 and a Glock 21. But my friends won't probably know enough to think to do that with their guns. So between leading and the accidental oversight of a double charge would you recommend I hold off on letting anyone use my reloaded ammo till I'm 100% confident in the quality of my reloads? FWIW, I intend to not let anyone use my reloads for the time being. Also, do any of you have policies you wouldn't mind sharing regarding who you let shoot your reloaded boolits? Are there any specific guns you won't let people fire cast boolits through?

shooter93
01-07-2013, 07:13 PM