PDA

View Full Version : Which Lee Electric Melter do I want?

mikeh3
07-06-2007, 08:39 PM
As you can tell by my post I'm just getting started in casting. Looking at the Lee catalog I see the Lee Pro 4-20, Magnum Melter, Lee Production Pot IV and the Lee Precision Melter. The Lee Precision Melter has 500 watts of melting power with a 4 pound capacity. Some of the others offer 700 watts of power with capacities of 10 and 20 pounds. Would I want a Melter that only allows the use of a ladle or do I need a Melter that I can put my mold under?

Another question, should I use the RCBS Lead Dipper or the Lee Lead Ladle if I should want a Melter that only allows ladle use?

Your suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks, Mike

Duckiller
07-06-2007, 08:46 PM
Never have been able to make a dipper work so have no comment on that. I do have a 10# Lee pot and it does drip a bit. 20# pot has different geometry to bottom pour spout and is supposed to drip less. When 10# dies or I think I need another pot it will be a 20# Lee, unless I find a used RCBS, Lyman, or SAECO cheap.

axman
07-06-2007, 11:07 PM
I have the 20lb 4'' clearance pot and it has been a pretty good pot my records show about 12,000 bullets cast bottom pour.

pumpguy
07-06-2007, 11:19 PM
It is really a matter of preference. I have always used the dipping type 20# pot and the RCBS ladle. The Lee ladle looks like it would be similar to using a teaspoon when you give kids medicine.

lurch
07-06-2007, 11:59 PM