PDA

View Full Version : Which LubriSizer do I buy?

MO45
01-06-2013, 05:13 PM
I have been Casting for about 5 years and Lurking this site for about a year. In the past I have always used Lee bullet molds, Lee sizing die, and tumble lube. I have had ok results I have been pleased with. But I have decided I want to step up my game. As a single Dad, I have to be conscious of both money and production (the boys love to shoot as much as I do). I think I want to purchase a Saeco 4 cavity mould 069. These bullets will be shot out of my 1911 Kimber Gold MatchII. I think this is a good choice. Not exactly cheap but I am trying to develop more quality in my casting. My problem right now is trying to figure out what Lubrisizer I want. I have read I want a STAR. But that probably isnt going to happen. So that means RCBS, Lyman, or SAECO. I really like Redding so I thought Saeco. But being able to use RCBS and Lyman sizing die in the RCBS and Lyman products seems like that would be the way to go. The trouble is none of these products get outstanding reviews. I am not sure I understand how the lube heaters work but it seems like a good idea. Also I plan on making by own lube. How does that work in these systems? Sorry if these questions seem a little disjointed. I just want to make the right choice the first time. I have too many hobbies and not enough time and money for all off them.

1Shirt
01-06-2013, 05:19 PM
I have both Lyman and RCBS, and like them both for the interchangeability of dies. If you watch e-bay, and or maybe Craigs list, you can once in awhile find a good deal.
1shirt!

Shiloh
01-06-2013, 05:20 PM
I have an old Lyman 450. The current updated model is the 4500. It works fabulously for me. Lyman and RCBS dies will fit it. Saeco makes a good unit, but you will need Seaco dies only at a lot more money.

I have a Lyman 45 that I am going to try to get running this year.

Shiloh

Cherokee
01-06-2013, 08:15 PM