PDA

View Full Version : Boolits Below Case Necks

Black Lung
01-06-2013, 12:34 PM
Hey casters,

I've been casting for about 3 years now, all for straight wall handgun cartridges, and just recently started casting some boolits for my rifles. I loaded up some 30-30 rounds with Lee 170 gr. flat point boolits, no problem, and had about 4 boolits left over, so I decided to try them in a 308 Win rifle I have and loaded these up last night. Now the problem...

If I seat the boolit deep enough to cover all the grease grooves, the boolit's base sticks way below the cartridge neck (these are gas-checked boolits) and the gas check and lower lube grooves are down in the powder. If I seat the boolits long, the upper grease grooves are exposed.

What am I missing here? How am I supposed to seat these boolits?

Thanks!

Jim
01-06-2013, 12:43 PM
I seat 'long for caliber' boolits deep enough to chamber without engaging the riflings. Sometimes, this puts the base of the boolit in the case below the shoulder and into the powder, but the lube I use is not tacky, so I'm not worried about the powder sticking to the boolit.

This may or may not affect COL for feeding from a magazine. Virtually all of my shooting is done one round at a time, so that's not an issue for me.

You'll get a lot of responses to this post, so others will have more to offer.

Sonnypie
01-06-2013, 12:54 PM
Sometimes there is no other way.
I have a Lyman 170g mold that is just plain long for my chamber. I like the bullet and how it shoots.
I load it for zero jump, and it is back in the powder room anyway.
Still shoots fine.
Like Jim, I only load one at a time anyway. But they will feed from the magazine fine.

http://i1195.photobucket.com/albums/aa382/Sonnypie/30%20Cal%20Cast%20Bullets/P3010298.jpg

303Guy
01-06-2013, 02:05 PM