PDA

View Full Version : Issue with Ingot mold releasing

Rich22
01-05-2013, 08:05 PM
So I fired up a pot today for the first time. Dropped some ingots , I used the stainless steel condiment cups from Wally World. Issue is over half of them will not release the lead. I am a total newb at this so I have no clue what I could have done wrong. Preheated the cups etc, the ones that came out looked great. What do I need to do to these things?

Thanks

tward
01-05-2013, 08:22 PM
Turn them upside down on metal tray heat the bottom til they release! Tim

Le Loup Solitaire
01-05-2013, 11:49 PM
Lead does not stick to stainless steel, aluminum, or cast iron. Turning over anything made from any one of those three metals; the ingot should fall out. It may require a light tap on the bottom of the vessel, but that's all. The only thing that I can think of that would prevent that might be some kind of crud that was in the ingot form. Being sure that the ingot form is clean and free of any such "glop" beforehand is a way to prevent any kind of sticking...a wipe with a solvent would do it. LLS

375RUGER
01-06-2013, 12:35 AM
what shape are the cups?

Giggidy
01-06-2013, 12:57 AM
I ran into that when I made some ingots in a wally world muffin tin too...had to beat the snot out a couple of the cups to get them to release. I'm going to try swabbing them with alcohol before pouring the next time and see if that helps.

Mal Paso
01-06-2013, 01:04 AM
I ran into that when I made some ingots in a wally world muffin tin too...had to beat the snot out a couple of the cups to get them to release. I'm going to try swabbing them with alcohol before pouring the next time and see if that helps.

If it's the steel muffin tin from Wally World it's Tin Plated and lead solders to it. Been there! Tossed em!

SlowSmokeN
01-06-2013, 02:07 AM
I had to use a little propane torch to heat them up and they fell right out. Threw those muffin tins in the trash.

billyb
01-06-2013, 03:21 AM