PDA

View Full Version : First revolver

45fan
01-04-2013, 08:52 PM
Well I got my first revolver this past weekend. A brandy new S&W 629 with a 6 inch barrel. I have always been a 1911 guy and always will be (just love the 1911) but I have been wanting a 44 mag for some reason. Just like this caliber, I now there are bigger and badder revolvers out there these days but I have always wanted a 44 mag.

I am new to casting and feel I have just scratched the surface with my ability to cast for my 1911 and 45 ACP. Now I want to throw 44 into the mix casting for my new revolver. I use HP-38 powder and my boolits for my 45 are 200gr FRN with a 50-50 mix of soft lead and COWW and lubed with Recluse 45/45/10 with good accuracy results and no leading.

What experience do you have casting and shooting boolits for the 44? Will I be able to shoot 44 mag velocities without gas checks? If so would I need very hard lead or could I get away with water dropped COWW and will the 45/45/10 Recluse recipe for lube be sufficient for magnum loads? I really dont want to deal with gas checks at all and honestly I will probably load some magnum but even more 44 special loads. I would really like to hear your experiences with type of lead you use, powder and boolit type, lube, weight, and why.

With the wealth of knowledge around here I know I will be heading in the right direction in no time. Thanks all.

Cherokee
01-04-2013, 09:47 PM