PDA

View Full Version : "Quiet Bullets?"

Stray Round
07-25-2005, 08:34 PM
Sometime ago I read an article by Ross Seyfried that mentioned some Smith's Quiet Bullets cast in LBT molds. He was shooting them from a 32 H&R and 32-20 with a light load of fast pistol powder, out of unsized cases. Supposedly very quiet load.

The bullets looked like a spool of thread with a driving band at front and back but with a short pointed nose section.

Anyone every use them? Any advantage over the same load with a regular cast bullet or round ball.

Buckshot
07-25-2005, 09:05 PM
.................I don't really understand how the boolit's shape could cause it to be quieter. I am not a scientist, but the bang we hear is the gas release as the boolit's base clears the muzzle. If the boolit is supersonic it cracks. I think these would pretty much be unaffected by the boolit's shape.

You can mitigate the noise to a degree by shooting below the sound barrier, and by using a small light charge of powder. You can also quiet the report by using a longer barrel.

An example of all three is when shooting 45 Colt pistol ammo out of a chamber adaptor in my MkIV 577-450 Martini-Henry with it's 33" bbl. Just kind of like a burp.

............Buckshot

Willbird
07-25-2005, 09:15 PM
Well it sounds like to me that the bullet has a wasp waisted shape to reduce bore friction, thus allowing small charges of powder to be used without sticking a bullet ??

There were some old ideal collar button bullets patterned like that.

Mr. Smith says to use a very heavy bullet with an extremely fast powder so it is all burnt before the bullet fully leaves the cylinder in a revolver.

Bill

BeeMan
07-25-2005, 09:16 PM