PDA

View Full Version : What, exactly, is "Antimony wash"?

milrifle
12-17-2012, 05:33 PM
Hey guys, I'm still pretty new to this bullet casting. Beginning to think I always will be. Anyway, what exactly is "Antimony wash"? Is it necessarily a bad thing? I'm shooting an '03-A3 with Lee C312-185-2R over 26gr of RL-7. Bullets are air cooled wheel weights with a fair amount of tin added (Probably 5%). I have no leading that I can tell, but I have a grey deposit in my barrel. The deposit doesn't seem to hurt accuracy. When cleaning, initial wet patches (Shooter's Choice) come out almost perfectly clean. Only after using a bore brush do I get any dirty patches, but even then, the gun is easy to clean and comes out with a shiney bore. Is this "Antimony wash"?

BLTsandwedge
12-17-2012, 07:22 PM
Antimony wash is the quasi-legal term for a court-ordered alimony settlement......'cause you just got hosed.

Sorry- I'm just not suited for useful information.

popper
12-17-2012, 08:47 PM
Could be but you are using a lot of tin so probably not. I use Ed's red for cleaning, there is no copper in the bbl. I just use a soaked patch on a swab, let it sit and then dry patches. They come out greyish black from powder and lube residue. "Antimony wash" supposedly doesn't affect accuracy, leading does. I don't know if anyone has actually analyzed the grey dust to see what it really is.

btroj
12-17-2012, 09:00 PM
Antimony wash, to me, is a light grey wash on the bore. It isn't lumps. It isn't anything more than a light grey color. Think of what coppers pulling looks like at the muzzle. That is what antimony wash will look like.

Tends to be from alloys with much more antimony that tin. Tin helps mix antimony into the alloy, forms an "inter metallic complex" of tin and antimony that keepsake antimony crystals from forming on the surface of the bullet. These crystals leave the antimony wash.