PDA

View Full Version : reloading 30-30's

jatbrats
12-13-2012, 11:51 AM
I have been reloading 30-06 , 357 , 38 specials and 40 cal for over 20 years , This is my first time reloading for my 30-30 marlin . I am having trouble with the crimping . It is either to loose or I smash the case . What am I doing wrong ????

docone31
12-13-2012, 11:58 AM
Well, with cast, I wouldn't crimp. It changes the final diameter of the casting.
Get a Factory Crimp Die.
The Thutty thutty was my first reload cartridge way back when. Make sure you do use lube on sizeing the case. I had to get a few out of the dies back then.
A comfortable cartrideg to reload.

MT Gianni
12-13-2012, 12:50 PM
Try turning your die in no more tha 1/4 turn adjustments. In a tubular magazine you need a crimp to resist bullet movement but no more. It is difficult to correct without watching you .

bradh
12-13-2012, 01:14 PM
I fought this exact problem years ago. With the 30-30 you need to crimp due to the tubular magazine. Trim all your cases to
an equal length. Seat bullet and crimp separately...two steps. After trimming it's a cake walk!

GabbyM
12-13-2012, 01:15 PM
Assumig your die is in spec.
To loose ?bullet loose in neck? means you've overcrimped and pushed the neck down. Ballooning the walls out. Smashed means you have gone way far past over crimp. Use just enough crimp to remove any flare plus about .005" in outside diameter. As soon as you can tell the edge of your case mouth is smaller than the case neck walls you've enough crimp. If you've crimped the case mouth flush with your bullet you've over crimped. Yes I kow many will disagree but there you have it.

Also:
Always crimp in a separate operation from bullet seating.
Lee factory crimp dies are nice as are tapper crimp dies. But the standard roll crimp step in your seater die will work fine if your cases are trimmed to uniform length.

TNsailorman
12-13-2012, 01:20 PM