PDA

View Full Version : Light charge high pressure ???

Ball Caster
12-04-2012, 04:08 PM
What happened!!! I was shooting my 6.5 x 55 with 16 grains of 4227 and a 3/4 gr tuft of Dacron against the powder behind my 140 grain cast bullet. On the second shot the gun locked up and I could not open the bolt.

I tapped the bolt open but left the shell in the chamber. Later I removed the shell with a brass ramrod.

I do not think I double charged the shell but I have never used Dacron filler before, could it have been the culprit?

The gun seems otherwise unscathed.

Crusty Deary Ol'Coot
12-04-2012, 04:19 PM
Ball Caster,

Have always avoided fillers, so will follow the replys with interest!

Crusty Deary Ol'Coot

44man
12-04-2012, 04:21 PM
Sounds like an S.E.E. event. Boolit moved out to the rifling, stopped and the powder went off.

popper
12-04-2012, 04:26 PM
I've not had any problems with dacron in 30-30. I am not familiar with 4227. If that powder is not good for light loads, dacron may not solve the problem.

runfiverun
12-04-2012, 04:51 PM
i doubt it was the dacron. [i don't think 4227 "needs" dacron to help sd's or to burn properly]
your case neck might have been too long.
the boolit jammed into the rifling might have raised initial pressure too quickly.
this wasn't a "see" event.

Crusty Deary Ol'Coot
12-04-2012, 06:00 PM
Runfiverun, just may have nailed it, as 4227 isn't one of the slow powders which give the S.E.E. effect from what I've read.

That is more a slow rifle or hand gun powder thing, 4831 and H110 etc.

CDOC

Rocky Raab
12-04-2012, 08:06 PM
I agree that it wasn't an SEE with that quick a powder. But it is another scary event involving filler in a bottleneck case.

Just sayin'

cbrick
12-04-2012, 08:19 PM
Have always avoided fillers, so will follow the replys with interest! Crusty Deary Ol'Coot

I agree that it wasn't an SEE with that quick a powder. But it is another scary event involving filler in a bottleneck case.

Just sayin'