PDA

View Full Version : What a great day

Aje
12-02-2012, 09:58 AM
Hi Guy's
Had an absolute blinder of a day, no commitments, Cowboy shooting in the morning, played around with my model 19-3 in the arfternoon shooting boolits from my new Lyman 358429 which shot beautifully considering I haven't done any load development yet. I was hitting 4" steel circles with boring regularity at 25-30 meters off hand (that's pretty good for me). Then a spot of casting in the evening did about 400 #358665's & 200 #358429's.
It just dosn't get any better.

If anyone has any advice or sees anything I can improve please comment. Ive been reloading for 24 years but casting for only 6 months or so so I still have a lot to learn about both.

Aje

truckboss
12-02-2012, 11:30 AM
Good morning,I would run your mold a little hotter and cut your sprue a little sooner.

EMC45
12-02-2012, 05:36 PM
And maybe snug down the sprue plate a bit. Otherwise they look ok. The 359-429 is a good bullet!

fcvan
12-02-2012, 06:19 PM
Cast, reload, shoot, repeat. Get back with us frequently and let us here know how it's going. BTW, nice iron and nice looking boolits!

Gibson
12-02-2012, 06:24 PM
Good shooting. Nice casting. Beautiful shootin' iron.

Life is good. :)

Aje
12-03-2012, 09:37 AM
Thanks for the imput guys. I don't really have anyone local to get feedback from, while I know heaps of shooters they generally buy there bullets or get me to cast them. I have learned most of the finer points of the little I know from this site so thanks.
I'll fire up the pot tomorrow & will up my cycle rate to get a bit more heat in the mold also I'll see if I can cut the sprues a little earlyier without any tearing after tightening the sprue plates of course.
Think I may also head to the range and start some load development with the 358249 & see what it will really do rather than just playing.