PDA

View Full Version : Which Ladle Do You Use?

07-23-2005, 05:54 PM
I am fairly new to casting (400 boolits cast) and have used a Lyman ladle which seems to work well. I did smooth and enlarge the interior groove that leads to the pouring spout with a Dremel Tool.I am considering getting a Rowell Ladle as the bottom pour spout looks like a nice feature. The actual pouring spout looks a little large though as I like the control afforded by the small tapered spout on the Lyman. I am interested in hearing of others experiences with these and the RCBS ladles and their pros and cons.

45 2.1
07-23-2005, 06:09 PM
I have the Lyman, Rcbs and three Rowells (smallest, next to smallest and one for rendering) Either the Lyman or Rcbs are ok, but I wish they had about one half again more capacity. The Rowells are good, but the pouring spout could benefit from a little triangular file work to concentrate the pouring stream. The smallest Rowell is all you need unless your going to pour cannon balls. The RCBS and the smallest Rowell would be a good combo.

NVcurmudgeon
07-23-2005, 06:44 PM
I haven't used the Rowell yet, gotta try it. I find the Lyman too small, but the RCBS is big enough to support a four-cavity, 200 gr. mould. Also the RCBS has a fin on the bottom which I use to rake the crud toward me, leaving a clean spot to dip in. Of course the Rowell avoids dross inclusions by bottom pour. The RCBS comes with a spindly little handle that WILL break if you bang it on the side of the pot to knock crud loose for skimming. When they break, I tap the ladle 5/16" NC and make a new handle from a long 5/16" bolt with a nut jammed against the outside of the ladle.

Lee W
07-23-2005, 10:17 PM
I have a Rowell 2lb ladle that is a little heavy for constant use. I did find using the pot edge as support when I poured into the mould worked great.
It is built like a truck and will last me forever.
I got mine here:
http://www.buffaloarms.com/browse.cfm/2,123.html

shooter2