PDA

View Full Version : Total Newbbie BP questions -- Hawken .54 cal BP

seasidehunter
11-23-2012, 03:48 PM
What is the deal with the used .54 cal Hawken rifle? are they good ??

the reason I ask is because I see on the website they offer the .50 cal ones for sale.

is the .54 better than the .50 or did they quit making them for some reason a newbie like me doesn't know yet or understand?
{ Bigger is bette?? }

What is the value of a used one, is it worth $200, $225 ???

I would like to get a BP rifle but don't know much.

any advice, comments welcomed - hope all had a wonderful turkey day

Omnivore
11-23-2012, 04:47 PM
Just my 2 cents. 50 cal is more common, probably for no other reason than it is more common, similar to VHS beating out Beta back in the days of yore. 50 cal shooting accessories are more common, but you can always get 54 cal stuff if you look around, or if you shop on-line. Nothing wrong with a 54 cal at all, so if you find a good deal on one that's in good condition (has a good bore) there's no reason to shy away from it.

$200 to 250 is about half, or a little more than half, the price of a new "Hawkenesque" rifle from TC, Investarms, or the other lower priced traditional sidelocks, so that would be a great deal assuming it was in good condition. A much more faithful reproduction Hawken such as a Pedersoli will run closer to a thousand, and a nice handbuilt can run several thousand. The $350 to $500ish Italian production guns are good shooters though, even if they're a bit rough in the fit and finish area or they're not really "Hawkens" in their construction details.

winelover
11-23-2012, 05:08 PM
Bigger hole is always better, when it applies to big game hunting. Just remember the heavier the slug the more it recoils!

Winelover

smoked turkey
11-23-2012, 08:52 PM