PDA

View Full Version : Hornet frustration with a capitol "F"

roysha
11-10-2012, 02:01 PM
I have been working on getting a load for my CZ Hornet for a couple of years now. It is an on again/off again sort of project because the results are frustrating to say the least.

Basically the situation is this: I started with the a couple of Lyman bullets, neither of which worked at all. 3"-5" at 50 yards.

Got a Ranch Dog mold and cut the groups in half but no consistency. First group might be 1 1/2" then the next group will be either similar or 3" random or possibly the same size except with vertical or horizontal stringing or any combination of groups.

Here is what I have done.

Bullet. The above Ranch Dog cast just a bit softer than linotype. Lubed with Carnuba Red. HOR GC. Sized .225. Sorted by weight with a tolerance of .25 grain on either side of target weight. This results in a 60-65% rejection rate.

Powder. 2400 110 4227 and just recently 4759. All load changes were in increments of .2 grains and all weighed on an RCBS 10-10 scale.

Primer. WSR STD and WSP both STD and MAG used in a seemingly infinite combination with the above powders.

Case. WINCHESTER new bulk brass. Once fired. Trimmed to length so all cases the same.

Seating. OAL to fit CZ mag but have played with the seating depth, from engaging the rifling (single load only) to seating all grease grooves into neck of case. Light crimp and no crimp with each seating depth series of test rounds. Fed either single round or from magazine, if possible, for all series of loads.

Other. Use an IPCO .033 grease wad or not and makes no difference.

Read in PROPELLENT PROFILES that IMR 4759 was THE powder for cast bullets in the Hornet. Bought a can and although it seems to want to shoot better, actually had 1 group of just under 11/16" (5 shot for all test loads, 50 yards), the other 3 groups were 1"-1/4" with the exact same load.