PDA

View Full Version : Top Punch?

fanner 50
06-11-2007, 11:29 AM
Where can I find a list of top punches. I have a .452 sizer die coming. I'm going to cast a Lee round nose bullet. I can find a list of punches but it doesn't say what they are for just a bunch of numbers. I apologize if this is a dumb question but I'm new to casting. :confused:

LarryM
06-11-2007, 12:50 PM
Some times close is as good as it will get. Take a look at a catalog of lyman molds and it shold show which top punch is intended for that bullet.
As an example - I have a Lee mold 452-228-1R and I have ordered the Lyman top punch # 374. I don't have it yet but I anticipate kaing a slight modification to it needed to fit the bullet better.:castmine:

Lee
06-12-2007, 01:05 AM
OK, also new at this. Why can't you use just about any old "flat" top punch for any frn or tc boolits? Flat is flat?? No?? "IF" all you are doing is lubing. I understand sizing takes a lot more force, and could cause an impression on the bullet nose. Now for rn boolits, I would guess that the top punch radius would be more important, and perhaps not a "one size fits all"?? Again, just for lubing of course???/.................Lee:wink:

redbear705
06-12-2007, 07:59 AM
Check Here for Lymans bullet molds sizer dies and top punches http://www.lymanproducts.com/lymanproducts/pbulleta.htm

The shape of the top punch helps center the bullet and stop it from cocking at an angle before going into the die. Not to mention not deforming the bullet nose.

I have made a quick temp top punch to use on a flat top bullet and I can get by with it but I mess up some bullets by shaving off too much off one side or the bullet wont go in at all.

My top punch from Midway should be here today....now I hope I ordered the correct one or I will be getting the next size larger....:)

JR

1hole
06-12-2007, 09:19 AM