PDA

View Full Version : Laptop for son

Bret4207
06-11-2007, 10:00 AM
Have to purchase a laptop for "Sir Whinesalot", finally graduating fron High School. Need basic opinion on what a Jr. College attendee would need and more importantly brand recommendations. My first choice was Dell, but I see Sony, Acer, HP setting good reviews. This will serve as "his" computer. I'll get a router so he can access the 'net at home, he does a very limited amount of gaming, "Diablo"?, and needs something reliable for school, Criminal Justice (!!! I know, but he's trying it), will want to watch movies, listen to music, down load stuff. I'd lke to stay within $1000.00 or so. Any opinions? Best places to buy?

trickyasafox
06-11-2007, 11:28 AM
my info is dated but i graduated HS in 2003 and ordered a dell 5150 laptop. I fried 3 motherboards, 2 fans, and several sticks of ram. ALL was replaced for free, under my dell warranty. Customer service from them was always good.

make sure he contacts his school for discounts. I got 250 dollars off because my school had a deal with dell. i just had to use some coupon code. if my school still has the promotion i'll see if i can get you the discount info. i'm not sure if its still running (it was 4 years ago now)

Pilgrim
06-11-2007, 12:28 PM
I would stay away from HP. I had one of their machines that had manufacturing problems and they at first ignored me, then denied the problem, then finally admitted the fault (after I had an IT expert call them for me), but never did they give me a solution, nor did they make it right. I haven't bought HP anything since. FWIW Piilgrim

KCSO
06-11-2007, 01:13 PM
I use Dell's at work and my daughters school computer was a Dell. I am currently using an Inspiron and the delivered price was $976.00. It handles reports, printing, internet and everything I need to do businesss wise. We have at this time 4 Dells out to our Deputies and thye have given good service since 2003.