PDA

View Full Version : Beeswax and Alox 350

BABore
07-21-2005, 08:35 AM
Since I'm just getting into casting and want to do it all, I've been doing some nosing around for ingredients. Most of the beeswax seems to run around $8.00/lb. Not being satisfied, I contacted a honey supplier that I've dealt with for my beer & mead making supplies. Here's the reply I got back

Bruce
Yes we do carry beeswax. Our raw yellow wax sells for $1.95 a pound. Dark raw sells for $1.85 a pound. Our processed yellow sells for $2.85 a pound and our dark processed sells for $2.50 a pound. However before coming give us a call to make sure we have it on hand. If we can be of further help let us know. Phone # 517-467-2065

Thank you
Groeb Farms

This place is in Michigan and has a web site. I originally got their address from the National Honey Board. Don't know if this is a great price or not. It is compared to a lot of the internet retail sites. Hope this isn't old news.

I've read some old posts, both here and on other sites, that Lee Liquid lube is Alox 350. I've seen somewhere that Lubrizol uses Alox 350 in some of their products. Looking in the McMaster-Carr catalog, I've found they carry a Lubrizol LPS #3 Heavy Duty Rust Inhibitor for $34.49 per gallon. Based on the description it appears it may be Alox 350. I've signed up on Lubrizol's web site, through my company, and hope to nail it down. Have a couple of business contacts trying to do the same. Has anybody else been able to verify this or know of another source?

Again, I hope I'm not drudging up old stuff already well hashed over.

Junior1942
07-21-2005, 09:40 AM
The $2.85 per lb for processed yellow sounds like a good price to me.

Greg5278
07-21-2005, 09:46 AM