PDA

View Full Version : Lee Six Cavity Mould Handle, first ever problem.

Four Fingers of Death
10-31-2012, 09:09 AM
I am pleased to say that I have been using a significant amount of Lee equipment for many years and apart from a 44Mag AutoPrime Shellholder that a piece broke off after a few years, I have never had a problem.

I have bought many 6 cavity group buy moulds her and am happy with all of them (one does throw an immensily fat boolit, but the buy was for a fatter boolit). One of the first,if not the first GB mould I bought,never got used, which is strange.

I lent it to a friend, who broke it in, etc. He is an extremely experienced caster and a very competent, careful man. After getting the mould working well, he cast about a hundred boolits and the handle broke clean off. He was horrified of course (these things always happen with other people's stuff,lol.

Anyway he welded it up and said that he would buy a six cavity mould (he has never used more than a double,he is hooked!) and give me the new handle. Not necessary I told him, I wouldmuch prefer my hanlle with bush welding character!

Am I upset? Not at all, just one of those things. Lee's record with me is excellent. Here is a pic of the repaired handle;

http://i89.photobucket.com/albums/k228/4fingermick/Reloading%20and%20Casting/20121031_RepairedHandle.jpg

oneokie
10-31-2012, 09:17 AM
The sprue cutter handle seems to be the weakest part of the Lee 6 cavity moulds by the number of posts about them breaking.

Member Red River Rick makes a steel replacement handle.

Wayne Smith
10-31-2012, 10:07 AM
With that repair it's probably better than the original!

ShootNSteel
10-31-2012, 11:23 AM