PDA

View Full Version : Alox Lube what do ya think?

fanner 50
06-07-2007, 11:01 AM
I'm new to casting my own but need some sort of hobby while taking cancer treatment. I have a 45 LC Ruger Bisley and a AMT HB converted to 45 Super. I am starting by casting the 228 gr R1 Lee. for use in the 1911. What do you think of the liquid Alox lube by Lee. It seems to get mixed reviews. Oh and I'm new here so helo to all. - Fanner 50

45forlife
06-07-2007, 11:28 AM
I like the LLA but it is messy. I read a thread here about mixing it with Johnsons paste wax and tried it. My mixture was about 1/3 LLA and 2/3 JPW. I like this a lot better because it is less sticky. I’ve been using this with a 300 grain gas checked boolit in a 454 casull. I haven’t tried it on my 1911 boolits yet.

I’m pretty new here myself but welcome.

454PB
06-07-2007, 11:38 AM
I've used the LLA with good results, but it is messy and tends to attract dirt and lint. I've even gone so far as using Gunscrubber to remove the LLA from the boolit noses. Though I've not done it, it seems like dipping the boolits rather than coating them entirely would be a possible solution to the problem.

pdawg_shooter
06-07-2007, 01:13 PM
I use LLA as a lube on my paper patch bullets. Works great.

Jack Stanley
06-07-2007, 09:18 PM
I've applied the lube to the bullet grooves directly from the spout on the LEE bottle before . It's time consuming but for trying just a few and not making a mess it works OK .

Jack

Newtire
06-07-2007, 09:30 PM
I use the stuff alot and only thing is it's a little messy and smokes a bit. I tumble the boolits in a plastic dish & and pour them out on a big plastic bag instead of waxed paper. Let dry overnite or use hairdryer to dry quick. Run em thru the Lee sizer and you're set. I think if someone is getting leading at moderate cast boolit speeds in say a .30-30, then his boolits are too small. I use it in .44 mag full out and also .30-30 and 30-30 Ackley. Also lots of other plinker loads. Go for it.