PDA

View Full Version : New to reloading and Casting would like some help.

Blakemuz
10-23-2012, 10:20 PM
Hi my name is Blake and i am new to reloading in general and Boolit casting also. I decided to get into reloading because well i love to shoot and need another hobby and .45 acp goes for $350 per thousand. and using local lead supplies i can reload for $67 per thousand so my poor student *** can still shoot 1k a month. i have an Hk USP .45 and I am anything but new shooting I have been shooting all my life and have a few other guns. Today i bought a Lee Anniversary kit along with everything i need to cast from the electric furnace to the 6 cavity mold with a sizer and lube. i chose the (Lee 6-Cavity Bullet Mold 452-228-1R 45 ACP, 45 Auto Rim, 45 Colt (Long Colt) (452 Diameter) 228 Grain 1 Ogive Radius ) because a .452 sizer was only $19 and i did not have to deal with tumble lubing. I have yet to Slug my USP But it shoots great with standard FMJ which i know are .451. Will i need to slug my barrel if i get leading or should i focus on powder and alloy type? I will be using fishing weights which i have read is around 10-13 BHN correct me if i am wrong. i have heard bullseye is great with lead. any tips would be appreciated, i am also not new to casting i have cast with copper aluminum and other metals.
please excuse my terrible grammar and sentence structure its overrated i am an engineering student not a liberal arts major. :D

williamwaco
10-23-2012, 10:33 PM
Blake,

Go for it.

Your plan is good and should work fine.

I have never seen a .45ACP that wouldn't shoot .452 cast bullets.
Straight wheel weights make excellent bullets.

PS.

We don't care about your "terrible grammar and sentence structure" here - but if you turn in lab reports that look like that you will never get your sheepskin and if you, do and get a job, emails and reports like that will relegate you to menial tasks for your entire career.

hithard
10-24-2012, 02:30 AM