PDA

View Full Version : mould master

Catsmith
10-08-2012, 11:21 AM
I have a "mould-master" model 61 that came in a deal I made a while back. The bride got it out yesterday and used it for the first time. Worked like a charm but I have a couple questions.

1. the spout would not pour lead until we turned it up to about 750 or a little better. Is that normal?

2. how do you clean it up without messing it up? overall it looks good but there is some light surface rust on the outside and inside the pot.

3. is this a good pot for a beginner?

500MAG
10-08-2012, 11:29 AM
That is a great pot for a beginner. The spout may not have poured due to some rust and other build up. You may want to take a bent paper clip with some needle nosed pliers and run it thru the spout while it is hot to clean it out. As far as the thermostat goes, that thing is rarely accurate, especially at the age it is. I have an old lyman 20 pounder and removed the thermostat and wired it directly. I use it now just for smelting small batches when I am too lazy to set up my turkey fryer and pot.

Le Loup Solitaire
10-08-2012, 04:16 PM