PDA

View Full Version : Do these look okay?

sasquatch094
10-07-2012, 10:50 PM
Ive been reloading now for a couple months and used FMJ boolits before i went to cast. I bought a box of cast ones from Fin Feather & fur since it was cheap and i only use it for target practice at the range.. Tried reloading 100 rounds tonight just to see how it went.
It seems like the cast boolits were to big in diameter and the case was shaving some of it off the sides? I can see some wax come out, but mainly its cast shavings as seen in the pictures. is this normal? do i need to remove it all before i shoot?

http://imageshack.us/a/img837/2695/1007122234a.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/837/1007122234a.jpg/)

http://imageshack.us/a/img856/8131/1007122234.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/856/1007122234.jpg/)
thanks for your help..

RP
10-07-2012, 10:55 PM
you need to check the size of you bullets if they are fine you need to bail the cases more so they do not shave the bullet. I would avoid shooting them at the least they will lead like crazy

runfiverun
10-07-2012, 11:26 PM
more case flair will eliminate the shaving.
put just enough for the boolit to sit straight on the case mouth.

40Super
10-07-2012, 11:56 PM
That sure looks like a lot of shaved lead, make sure those bullets are the right size for ,45acp(it looks like), so they should be .452ish. If they are fine ,first thing I do for lead is to take a chamfer tool and put a chamfer on the ID of the case mouth, then bell enough for the bullet to sit on top. A expander with a step, like a Lyman M die is nice for cast bullets.

bumpo628
10-08-2012, 01:25 AM
That happened to me the first time I loaded lead too.
You just need to flare the case mouth a bit more.

Hard to tell from the pics, but they look a little short. What is your OAL?

woody2
10-08-2012, 01:27 AM